Our Mission

To foster an understanding of remote sensing science. Emphasis is placed on developing a meaningful dialogue among geographers interested in understanding and applying remote sensing technology in research, instruction, public service, and private enterprise.
RSSG on Facebook AAG


  • Le Wang, State University at Buffalo - Chair (2015-2017)
    lewang at
  • Changshan Wu, University of Wisconsin - Vice-Chair (2015-2017)
    cswu at
  • Cuizhen (Susan) Wang, University of South Carolina - Secretary / Treasurer (2015-2017)
    cwang at
  • Niti Mishra, University of Wisconsin, La Crosse - Director (2014-2016)
  • Caitlin Lippitt, University of New Mexico - Director (2015-2017)
    caitlippitt at
  • Ming-Chih Hung, Northwest Missouri State University - Awards Chair (2014-2016)
    MHUNG at
  • Rebecca Powell, University of Denver - RSSG Session Organizer (2014-2016)
    rebecca.l.powell at
  • Nathan Gill, Clark University - Student Co-Director (2015-2017)
    ngill at
  • Shuvankar Ghosh, University of Georgia - Student Co-Director (2014-2016)
    shubho at
  • Chris Halvorsen - Webmaster (2009-present)
List of past RSSG chairs


The RSSG is a specialty group within the Association of American Geographers (AAG), and membership is obtained through the AAG. Dues are $7 for Regular Membership and $1 for Student Membership.


The RSSG bylaws are available here.